[Troubleshooting] Ubuntu 12.04 – Can’t boot ubuntu after updating

My brain is designed to remember some stuff. The rest of the stuff – which is the majority – exist on my laptop. Now imagine losing my laptop –> End of the world (first world problem I guess).

Two days ago, I couldn’t enter my ubuntu. This is a translation of ‘losing my laptop’. After passing from grub it hanged on a black screen. Nightmare. Kernel version: 3.2.0-56. So I started choosing older kernel versions till I reached 3.2.0-51 in which I could enter unity with a terrible resolution. Still I had a visual access. Relief.

And then procrastination for a day :p (Well, I was not home)

The solution came easy. I opened Ubuntu Software Center and from History I could go through the updates I did the night before shutting down the beauty. Most of them concerned libraries. There was only one main suspect: nvidia-304-updates.

From Synaptic Package Manager, I could read about this update. It was a “NVIDIA binary Xorg driver, kernel module and VDPAU library”. Quoting: The binary driver provide optimized hardware acceleration of OpenGL applications via a direct-rendering X Server. AGP, PCIe, SLI, TV-out and flat panel displays are also supported.
This package also includes the source for building the kernel module required by the Xorg driver, and provides NVIDIA’s implementation of the Video Decode and presentation API…”

Since I could not access some kernel versions, I connected the dots (bold phrases) and condemned this update. I removed it and voila! Back to kernel version 3.2.0-56. 🙂

And I lived happily ever after. Goodnight!

PS. If anyone knows why I had this issue and why it affected the last 5 kernel versions, please drop a line!

Leave a Reply

